Raiffeisen Banking Group – The Three Tier Structure

As the largest shareholder of Raiffeisen Zentralbank and ranking itself amongst the top 6 commercial banks, Raiffeisenlandesbank Niederoesterreich Wien (RLB NW) is a very important part of the Austrian Raiffeisen Banking Group which consists of a three tier structure:

The first tier is formed by approx. 470 independent Raiffeisen cooperative banks with about 1,600 branches. The focus of these independent credit cooperatives is mainly retail banking and business banking for small enterprises in their local markets.

The Raiffeisen cooperative banks own a "Raiffeisen-Landesbank" in their province which make up the second tier of the Raiffeisen pyramid.

The Raiffeisen Landesbanks such as RLB NW are autonomous universal banks which also render clearing and other central functions to the first tier credit cooperatives.

The Raiffeisen Landesbanks account for approx. 90% of the share capital of Raiffeisen Zentralbank Oesterreich AG (RZB), which is the central institution of Raiffeisen Banking Group Austria and the steering company of RZB Group. 
RZB owns 60.7 % of Raiffeisen Bank International (RBI), a wholesale bank in Austria with focus on the Top 1,000 corporates and one of the major players in Central and Eastern Europe. 

Three Tier Structure